Hadestown

Anyone done any work on Anais Mitchell’s Hadestown project?

It seems that there was some commentary in Syllecta Classica (which is on my To Be Read pile) but I know very little about Reception in music so I’m looking for some broad thoughts…

It is a ‘modern folk opera’ based on the Orpheus myth and I heard about it on the Radio; partly because, although it was started a while ago, she is planning a stage show which might eventually come to the UK.

I am hoping to actually sit down and listen soon but I would welcome thoughts from any classicists who’ve heard it or can offer some background on the various Orpheus poems/operas etc already out there.

1 thought on “Hadestown

  1. Ziva

    Hi there! So some friends of mine were able to get the rights to use her music in an adaption in musical form of a play. After listening to the beautifully created music they came up with the rest to write the play based off of lots of research. What came to be was a short one act production done on a community stage. I was a part of the cast and if not for the love of Anais Mitchell’s music none of it would have taken place. I love the folk music based off of the Orpheus myth.There is so much passion in it. I am also basing off a drama presentation from my inspiration from her work. She is brilliant and I would say that the reception form other cast members are just as strong. Though I would share this.

    Reply

Leave a comment